Skip to content

Recent Viewings.

November 12, 2020

Ready or Not

This was alright. It was unique and kinda funny, but in the end it just didn’t seem to pay off.
C

Snowpiercer

Not sure why I hadn’t seen this until now. It’s good. Definitely original and fun, though pretty dang gory. I liked it.
B

1BR

I didn’t love this, but I liked it better than I thought I would at first. Starting out if feels really low-budget. I guess that doesn’t necessarily change, but the story gets pretty interesting.
C

Borat Subsequent Moviefilm

I would’ve said we didn’t need another Borat movie, but I would’ve been wrong. I really enjoyed this. It’s obviously super silly, but like the first one, it’s pretty telling about our current political climate. And I thought the addition of the daughter was a nice touch (and she did a great job).
A

My Octopus Teacher

This is neato. A dude befriends an octopus. It’s shot beautifully, and is surprisingly heartfelt, if not borderline creepy.
B

Nobody Sleeps in the Woods Tonight

This movie is pretty terrible. We also watched it overdubbed, and the English-speaking actors are AWFUL. So… double bad. You can skip this one. Oh, and good news, they left it open for a sequel.
F

On The Rocks

Not as good as I was hoping/expecting. I mean, it was fine. I’m a huge fan of the two leads, but they didn’t have a whole lot to do. Meh.
C

The Impossible

This movie is rough. Just plain hard to watch. But in a good way. It gave my eyes quite a workout between squinting from terrible stuff happening, to tearing up when good stuff did. It’s so crazy that it’s a true story. It has a little cheesiness to it at times, but I can’t really fault it for that. Not sure why I’d never seen it before. Definitely worth checking out.
A

The New Mutants

Overall, pretty fun. I’m not familiar with these characters, so some of their powers were a little confusing. I do wonder if it’s a triumph to people who are into this comic, or a complete flop. I have a feeling it’s far one way or the other. I enjoyed it.
B

Kajillionaire

Miranda July is a nut, and I love it. This is probably her most approachable movie to date. I mean, it’s got an obvious, logical plot. But it’s still super ridiculous in all the right ways. Evan Rachel Wood was really great in something seemingly way out of her comfort zone. The whole cast was pretty fantastic. It’s crazy. You should watch it.
A

Unhinged

Man, this thing is BRUTAL. It just doesn’t let up. The death count is ridiculous. It’s not necessarily the smartest movie in the world, but it definitely has a hint of real-life possibility, which makes it more horrifying than most any horror movie. Crowe is pretty convincing as a man who’s given up and wants to go out swinging. It had a bit of a Falling Down feel, though definitely not a movie of that caliber. Geez, this one. It was a lot right before bed.
B

c.

No comments yet

Leave a comment