Skip to content

Recent Viewings.

November 9, 2017


Baby Driver

I like this movie, in theory. To me, they just took everything a little too far. I liked the whole music video feel, but it got to a point where it was just cheesy. The chemistry/relationship/acting between Baby, the main character, and his love interest was just bad. Laughable, even. From the beginning, the way they talked and treated each other was so over-the-top and unrealistic. The chase scenes were really funny, especially the one on foot, surprisingly. Overall, I had a good time watching this, but I feel like they could’ve pulled back the reigns a bit and it would’ve played better.
C


The House

This movie is funny as butts. I mean, really funny. I’ve noticed it has some pretty low ratings and bad reviews. Pft. That’s dumb. We were laughing pretty much non-stop. The cast is amazing. The plot is ridiculous. Will and Amy are awesome together. If you’re looking for a straight up silly, laugh-out-loud movie, this is it.
A


Brigsby Bear

I honestly loved this movie. I usually love everything Kyle and company do on SNL (etc.), so I expected this movie to be strange and funny, but I didn’t expect it to have so much heart. It’s a genuinely lovely movie. I definitely laughed out loud, but I may have also shed a tear or two.  I also really enjoyed the performance from unknown (to me) Jorge Lendeborg Jr. I tried to stay in the dark as much as possible about what the movie was about, and I think that was a good strategy. Going into it cold will make for a stranger, more fun experience.
A


Wonder Woman

I know this is going to be an unpopular opinion, but I didn’t love this movie. It just felt a little silly to me. Yes, I know it’s a super hero movie. And don’t get me wrong, Diana is a badass. My favorite parts of the movie were when she was kicking some bad guy butts.  But… I just didn’t care at all about what was going on for the first half of the movie. It was boring. Once she put on her costume and started blocking bullets, I was more on board, but even then the cgi wasn’t very good and the scenes between fights were rough. I do look forward to seeing what DC does with the character, and their movies overall, but, at this point, they still can’t hold a candle to anything Marvel’s done.
C

c.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

