Skip to content

Recent Viewings – Sidewalk Edition

August 28, 2017


Step

This was the opening night film, and for good reason. It’s about a step team at an all girls’ school in a low-income neighborhood of Baltimore. It’s about their struggles, their successes, and their dreams. It’s funny, it’s sad, it’s exciting, and it’s inspirational. I even teared up during one of the step performances. I can’t imagine anyone not liking this movie, unless you just aren’t into documentaries at all. I’m sure it’ll be available somewhere real soon, so look for it and check it out.
A


Forever ‘B’

Holy crap, I don’t even know where to start. At its core, this is a documentary about a child abduction, but it’s so, so, so, so much more than that. The best article I can find about what happened is here. But even the craziness that’s in that article isn’t the whole story. I mean… ugh. Nuts. This story is nuts. See this movie for yourself if you can.
A


A Life In Waves

This is a really well-made documentary about a very fascinating and inspirational woman named Suzanne Ciani. Known for being one of the innovators of electronic music, she made a name for herself by incorporating electronic music/sounds into advertising. There is no doubt you’ve definitely heard some of her work. This probably won’t be that interesting to everyone, but if you’re into music and/or advertising and/or inspiring people, you’ll enjoy it.
B


Axoloti Overkill

The most “artsy” of movies we saw. I wasn’t necessarily ever bored, but I’m not really sure what the point of it was. It’s about a teenage girl who… likes to party? Does what she wants? Is a brat? It’s German, if that explains anything. I dunno. There was a funny scene with a penguin that made no sense. And it was definitely pretty to look at.
D


Lemon

I was super excited to see this movie. I love Brett Gelman‘s strange sense of humor, and the cast in this thing is fantastic. But it was a bit of a letdown. I think the biggest problem was that I couldn’t hear half of what was said. The audio in the Alabama Theater for this film was terrible. The dialogue was at times unintelligible, while the music score was beyond loud. I’m sure I missed a ton of funny lines. Don’t get me wrong, I still laughed a good bit, but it was in the quieter, more subtle parts of the film where I could make out the dialogue, or during some of the more obvious physical moments. All that to say, I’d like to re-watch this someday and see if it’s as funny as I’d hoped. At this point, it’s just kinda okay.
C


The Astrologer

This. This was an experience. This movie was made in 1975 and never released. It’s directed by and stars Craig Denney. Seemingly the only time he ever did either. We watched the only remaining (ever existing?) 35mm print. It looked terrible. It sounded terrible. And it was glorious. Everyone in the theater was there for the spectacle of it, and it didn’t disappoint. The story is beyond ridiculous, and honestly is so all over the place, it was pretty impossible to keep up with what was going on. On top of that, the projector would get messed up every once in a while, leaving the room whispering about what in the world we were watching, and then cheering once the film started rolling again. Would I recommend watching this movie by yourself at home? Not in a million years. Would I recommend seeing it in a theater full of people who know what their getting into? 100% yes.
A


The Reagan Show

To be honest, this wasn’t near as scandalous(?) as I was hoping/expecting. But it was very eye-opening to how the government can use media to portray things as they want them to be seen. It all felt very prophetic to our current situation. I typed up a long thing comparing Reagan and Trump, but it was too boring, so let’s just say that they both rely/relied heavily on media to spin things, and one was charming and well spoken, and the other one is not. Anyway, the movie was interesting and worth seeing, although maybe not as eye-opening as I was expecting.
B


Big Bear

Definitely one of the highlights of the weekend. This movie is really funny, and surprisingly heartfelt. And the cast is great. Joey Kern and Zachary Knighton even showed up to do a Q&A. I have no doubt this will be on Netflix or somewhere real soon. And you should watch it when it is.
A


Lucky

This movie is really slow and thoughtful, and I loved it. It stars Harry Dean Stanton (at 91 years old), and he does a fantastic job. It follows Lucky as he copes with getting closer to the end of his life in a small, desert town. It’s quite funny, and quite meaningful. See it if you get a chance.
A


Infinity Baby

I had a really fun time with this one. It’s super strange and really funny. And the cast is amazing. It’s way too strange to even try to explain. If you like quirky, odd-ball humor, see it.
A


A Ghost Story

This is a movie I like in theory. It has a unique and interesting plot, but it should’ve been a short. It was just too dang long. For instance, in one scene we watch Rooney Mara eat an entire pie. One shot. Real time. Like… ten minutes? I dunno. Way too long. Artsy? Boring. By the end, it really had me thinking about some things, and there were some moments and themes that were very interesting, but there were also a bunch of very unnecessary parts (to me, at least). If you want to see it, let me know and I’ll tell you were to fast-forward.
C

c.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

