Skip to content

Recent Viewings.

February 1, 2017


It Follows

Meh. It’s a movie where the ghost/demon/bad thing(?) goes after the latest person in a line of sexual partners? Eh… weird. The rules were kinda hazy, and it just wasn’t that engaging (or scary in the slightest). It was pretty well made, I guess. I’ll give it that. And that poster is really cool. I hadn’t seen that until I looked for one to post on here. Neato.
D

220px-other_people_film_poster
Other People

This is a tough movie. It’s billed as a dark comedy, but there is way more dark than there is comedy. That’s not a bad thing, but it’s definitely a sad thing. The cast is fantastic, and the acting is excellent. Molly Shannon‘s range really stands out as she goes from a charismatic, involved mom, to a woman barely hanging on to life. There are so many themes covered (and covered well) in this movie. I definitely recommend, but prepare to be sad.
A


Split

I feel like this would be an easy movie to tear apart, if you really wanted to. It wasn’t necessarily mind-blowing, but it was definitely never boring, and I liked the overall feel. Positively, there were quite a few really intense moments that kept me on the edge of my seat, and  James McAvoy was fantastic. But, there were some reveals that I don’t think were as affective as they were intended to be. At least to me. I left with a lot of questions, but I think this movie is better suited as one you don’t put too much thought into. Just enjoy the ride. Overall, it was a good movie experience, and that’s what we’re all looking for, right?
P.S. (no spoilers!) the very last second of the movie was the best part of the whole thing. Also, the main girl looks like a cartoon character.
B

c.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

